Big East Conference Men’s Basketball Rookie of the Year

The Big East Conference Men’s Basketball Rookie of the Year is a Rookie of the Year award given annually by the Big East Conference to one or more male basketball players in their first year of school. The award, like the other conference awards, is voted on by conference coaches. Coaches are not permitted to vote for players on their teams.[1] The recipient of the award is announced at a press conference immediately preceding the Big East Men’s Basketball Tournament, at the same time as the Big East Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year award and the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. The ceremony takes place at Madison Square Garden during the tournament.[1] The most recent award recipient was Cleveland Melvin of DePaul University.[2]

The award was introduced following the conference’s first season in 1980, awarded to David Russell of St. John’s.[3] Until the 1988–89 season, the award was known as the “Freshman of the Year.”[4] Co-Rookie of the year awards have been presented twice over the course of thirty seasons: After the 2004–5 season to Rudy Gay and Jeff Green and again after the 2007–8 season to Jonny Flynn and DeJuan Blair. As such, the award has been presented thirty-two times. As only freshmen are eligible, it is impossible to win the award more than once. However, the coaches in the conference also award a Preseason Rookie of the Year to one or more players before the start of the NCAA basketball season.


Season Player School
1979-1980 Russell, DavidDavid Russell St. John’s
1980-1981 Brown, FredFred Brown Georgetown
1981-1982 Ewing, PatrickPatrick Ewing Georgetown
1982-1983 Kelley, EarlEarl Kelley Connecticut
1983-1984 Washington, DwaneDwayne Washington Syracuse
1984-1985 Smith, CharlesCharles Smith Pittsburgh
1985-1986 Barros, DanaDana Barros Boston College
1986-1987 Coleman, DerrickDerrick Coleman Syracuse
1987-1988 Miller, SeanSean Miller Pittsburgh
1988-1989 Shorter, BrianBrian Shorter Pittsburgh
1989-1990 Henefeld, NadavNadav Henefeld Connecticut
1990-1991 Curley, BillBill Curley Boston College
1991-1992 Moten, LawrenceLawrence Moten Syracuse
1992-1993 Harrington, OthellaOthella Harrington Georgetown
1993-1994 Sheffer, DoronDoron Sheffer Connecticut
1994-1995 Iverson, AllenAllen Iverson Georgetown
1995-1996 Penn, ScoonieScoonie Penn Boston College
1996-1997 Thomas, TimTim Thomas Villanova
1997-1998 El-Amin, KhalidKhalid El-Amin Connecticut
1998-1999 Murphey, TroyTroy Murphy Notre Dame
1999-2000 Bell, TroyTroy Bell Boston College
2000-2001 Griffin, EddieEddie Griffin Seton Hall
2001-2002 Thomas, ChirsChris Thomas Notre Dame
2002-2003 Anthony, CarmeloCarmelo Anthony Syracuse
2003-2004 Taft, ChrisChris Taft Pittsburgh
2004-2005 Gay, RudyRudy Gay Connecticut
2004-2005 Green, JeffJeff Green Georgetown
2005-2006 James, DominicDominic James Marquette
2006-2007 Reynolds, ScottieScottie Reynolds Villanova
2007-2008 Flynn, JonnyJonny Flynn Syracuse
2007-2008 Blair, DeJuanDeJuan Blair Pittsburgh
2008-2009 Monroe, GregGreg Monroe Georgetown
2009-2010 Stephenson, LanceLance Stephenson Cincinnati
2010-2011 Melvin, ClevelandCleveland Melvin DePaul

Winners by school

Georgetown University leads the award count as of 2009 with six. Only ten of the twenty teams that have participated in Big East Conference men’s basketball have had players win the Rookie of the Year award. School teams which have never won the award include Providence College, West Virginia University, DePaul University, the University of Louisville, and the University of South Florida. Schools which left the Big East conference without winning the award include the University of Miami, Rutgers University, and Virginia Tech. Boston College was a founding member in 1979, and left the Big East for the Atlantic Coast Conference in 2005.[5] Because the college basketball season spans the new year, the year awarded is the year in which that season ended.

School (year joined)Template:Nobold Winners Years
Georgetown (1979) 6 1981, 1982, 1993, 1995, 2005, 2009
Connecticut (1982) 5 1983, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2005
Pittsburgh (1979) 5 1985, 1988, 1989, 2004, 2008
Syracuse (1979) 5 1984, 1987, 1992, 2003, 2008
Boston College (1979) 4 1986, 1991, 1996, 2000
Notre Dame (1995) 2 1999, 2002
Villanova (1980) 2 1997, 2007
Cincinnati (2005) 1 2010
DePaul (2005) 1 2011
Marquette (2005) 1 2006
St. John’s (1979) 1 1980
Seton Hall (1979) 1 2001

See also


  1. 1.01.1 Anthony, Mike (March 11, 2009). “Thabeet, Blair Share Big East Player Of Year Award”. The Hartford Courant. http://www.courant.com/services/newspaper/printedition/sports/hc-bemenawards0311.art0mar11,0,7200865.story. Retrieved 2009-05-26. 
  2. Powers, Scott (March 8, 2011). “Cleveland Melvin named Big East ROY”. ESPN. http://sports.espn.go.com/chicago/news/story?id=6195129. Retrieved March 15, 2011. 
  3. “Great Names In St. John’s Basketball History”. St. John’s Red Storm. 2009. http://redstormsports.cstv.com/sports/m-baskbl/spec-rel/stjo-great-names.html. Retrieved 2009-05-26. 
  4. “Big East Basketball Rookie of the Year”. Orange Hoops. March 11, 2009. http://www.orangehoops.org/BigEast/BE_Rookie_of_Year.htm. Retrieved 2009-05-26. 
  5. “About the ACC”. Atlantic Coast Conference. http://www.theacc.com/this-is/acc-this-is.html. Retrieved March 12, 2009. 

External links